Is it finally time for finasteride?

themiz1234

Established Member
Reaction score
I could write a lot but don't have much time for now. So here is a quick rundown:
-I noticed my hair was thinning shortly after I graduated high school in mid 2012, was 18 years old at the time
-I began keeping my hair very short to hide the thinning
-September 2012 I began using Rogaine to maintain what I had an hopefully regrow some of what I had
-These pics were taken in June 2012 prior to starting. My 50 year old dad is with me and you can see his hairloss
hair 3.jpghair.jpghair2.jpg

-Fast forward 2 years later now. I continue to use rogaine once a day after showers and Nizoral shampoo every MWF. However, my hair has gradually thinned on top and I can barely start to see a horse-shoe developing. womp womp! lol
IMG_20141001_123348_426.jpgIMG_20141003_192430_024.jpgIMG_20141006_125844_845.jpg
-I currently just shave my hair down to scalp damn near, usually with a 3mm guard on my razor.
-Oddly enough, the back of my head hasn't thinned out since I started rogaine two years ago, and in fact, has filled in a bit since. However, the top of my head and temple areas have thinned out a decent amount.
-So I ask, am I a good candidate to start finasteride after so much time of using rogaine? Is there plenty of hair left that I could perhaps fill back in what I lost while on rogaine, and maybe gain some back to my high school days?
-Are the sexual side effects worth it? I have done HOURS of research on finasteride, and it seems the % of side effects is much higher than 2%
-Finally, where should I go to get a finasteride prescription? Could I go to my school's health center and possibly get treated? Or is a dermatologist preferred (next appointment I checked isnt' for 3 months grrr)
Thanks for reading, took me a while to decide to post on this site!