Switching From Generic finasteride To Propecia?

Wayfinder

My Regimen
Reaction score
So I've been shedding intensely on finasteride for what'll soon be 4 months (shedding started within two days of starting). I started out with an almost full head of hair (I was thinning very slightly in the front, but everything else was fine). I used to have to convince people I was balding and they wouldn't believe me. The shedding has just been so intense that now people have started to point it out, even when I changed my hair style to cover up the thinning. I just really want the shedding to subside.

Anyway, my doctor suggested that an option I had was to switch from the generic 1.25 mg finasteride I've been taking to the brand-name 1 mg Propecia. She said that I might react better to that version of the drug.

Now, I've never read about anyone hopping over from generic to brand-name. I've only ever heard of the other way around due to cost and availability. And I've read posts about people who switch from brand-name to generic and how they have reacted worse to the generic.

So on one hand, maybe switching from generic to brand-name would mean the opposite and that it would work better for me. On the other hand, it might be the actual switch that's the problem, and switching in either direction might make things worse.

So has anyone switched over from generic to Propecia before? Has it been an improvement? Has it not changed anything? Has it made things worse?

Also, do you guys think that there might be any added sides if I were to switch over? Because it seems I've been lucky enough to avoid any of the sides other than shedding.

Last edited:

AnxiousAndy

My Regimen
Reaction score
There technically isn't any difference between generic and brand name. The FDA requires the same standard of quality for both generic and brand name. The only miniscule difference is that the inactive ingredients in the pills may vary from generic to generic to brand name. Hope this helped.