Severe Accutane Telogen Effluvium - Need Opinions On My Pics + Stories

fairlgirl

My Regimen
Reaction score
Hey guys,

I took Accutane for 8 months, and have been off it for 5 months. I'm F18 and I have been losing hair heavily (200-300 a day) for about 8 months.. so it started towards the end of my Accutane course.

I have low ferritin but am taking iron, as well as all other obvious vitamins.

I'm utterly devastated. I have lost about 60% of my hair, and constantly lose short regrowth. I'm at a point where I am just beginning to realise that my hair is becoming "thin", and lifeless. I had such gorgeous, thick, healthy hair and it's terrifying me that it is still falling out steadily with no signs of improvement. I am aware that this is just a bad Telogen Effluvium that will take time to sort itself out, and that none of you can medically help me, but this is so warped within my own head that I am unable to judge my own situation. So I'd really appreciate you guys commenting on my pics.

1. How far off am I from looking like my hair is obviously thin/scalp showing? I am still just about able to go out and feel "normal".

2. Based on these pics and your experiences with Telogen Effluvium, do you guys think that I will be much worse by summer, or be decently improved by then? I am asking bc I have no idea how bad a "bad telogen effluvium" typically gets.

3. Once your hair starts to improve and regrowth doesn't keep falling out, how long does it take to feel like your scalp is more covered?

I'm just so so scared.. all I want is for this to stop now. I won't mentally cope with it getting visibly thin to the extent that I don't want to go out. Never risking hair loss with a medication again, can't believe I even have this issue :(

Thanks so much, I really appreciate any replies x

PICS (hair is wet/drying):

IMG_0034.jpg
IMG_0016.jpg
IMG_0018.jpg
IMG_0032.jpg

fairlgirl

My Regimen
Reaction score