Scared Out Of My Wits. Anyone With Knowledge Of finasteride, Please Help!

RickyH

My Regimen
Reaction score
I've been ghosting these forums for over five years now, coming back every once in a while to see if any new treatments have emerged on the market (100% disappointment rate so far). I have run into a scenario that no longer allows me to be silent! I can't find anyone else with a similar case. I REALLY hope someone knowledgeable can shed (no pun) some light.

Anyway, here's my predicament:

In early June, I started taking Finasteride. Started with a VERY small dose (.25 mg) now taking .5 mg for about 2 months. At the very beginning, I mean like day 3, the profuse shedding I have always had came to a halt. I was, and still am shedding <50 hairs, or something around that area. Really hard to tell exact numbers obviously, but I know for an absolute fact that I am shedding WAY less than before I started the drug.
I was ecstatic. I was sure I had found a way to maintain, and even possibly regrow. Well, in the face of that good news, my hair now looks objectively far worse than it ever has before by a wide margin. I read in many places, that shedding is necessary for the regrowth and thickening process and that it is a sign that the medication is working. However, I'm still not shedding! I am hard pressed to find a hair that yanks out a lot of the time! But my head looks absolutely horrible! And it got that way in a matter of the last month! Much more diffuse in front and all over the top, and speedily receding hairline are my current reality. For years, my left side was more receded than the right. In this short time, the right side has caught up and even surpassed the left...

I'm not sure what to make of this. Is this a very bad sign, or is it good (fingers, and every other appendage crossed.) I am horrified, and quickly losing hope regardless. Any information you may have on this phenomenon would, as always, be vastly appreciated!

Thank you so much for reading,