Safety of concealers like Toppik and HSR?

TobiR

Reaction score
Hey all, well I have been using HairSoReal for a couple years and its been pretty great. No problems with it. My question is what do you think about the potential side effects of using such hair fibers?

I know they say they are non-toxic and safe and I got the material safety and data sheet from one of the sellers which says it does not have any carcinogens etc. But when I looked at the ingredients I noticed that some colorings are used such as D and C Orange etc. Looking up these colorings I found that they have been used in animal experiments and found to be mutagenic and possibly carcinogenic.

Here is 1 MSDS that says D and C orange 4 is mutagenic to somatic cells.

http://www.sciencelab.com/msds...?msdsId=9923649

What do you guys think?

Here are some ingredients for toppik.

Keratin
Ammonium Chloride
Silica
DMDM Hydantion
Iodopropynyl Butylcarbamate
And it may also contain the following ingredients and chemicals:
FD&C Yellow #6
FD&C Red #40
FD&C Yellow #5
D&C Red #22
D&C Red #33
FD&C Blue #1
D&C Green #5
FD&C Green #3
D&C Green #6
D&C Orange #4

Thanks.

s.a.f

Reaction score
Unless you're drinking the stuff I would'nt worry. People are exposed to all sorts of sh*t in the atmosphere and working enviroments. I'd rather apply hair fibres than take a single drag on a cigarette.

TobiR

Reaction score
Oh no question SAF there are worse things that you could be doing. I try to avoid as much as I can but this is just another thing that it seems to me I could avoid if I wanted to but I really want to keep it to make my hair look good.

In other words if I knew it was safe then it would give me a lot more peace of mind.

s.a.f

Reaction score
It is totally safe! just think of all the crap contained in make up that women rub into their skin every day. This stuff just sticks to your hair.

Esprit

Experienced Member
Reaction score