Requesting advice, if hair system is a way of life for me.

Discipline hair

My Regimen
Reaction score
Hi guys.. I am a newbie. I think this section is a better place to ask for advice. I have booked my hair transplant with a very reputable surgeon and clinic in coming weeks. I stated taking finasteride 1 mg 2 weeks back. But as the transplant day is coming near i am getting very nervous. I am slowly getting inclined to cancel my surgery and go for a hair system instead.

I am married. Norwood 3. Am likely to require around 2500-2600 grafts.

My family has a history of hair loss. I wanted my hair transplant to be a one time thing. But I a not sure how my remaining hair will be in future. I can spend money to keep up my appearance. Not a problem.

As per what I can make out..

Hair Transplant Pros

1. It's real hair.
2. My doctor is really good. so he will be able to give me a great hairline and camouflage the bald area,
3. I will not have to worry about maintenance, like in hair systems

Hair Transplant Cons

1. It will be like an illusion of density.
2. I don't know how my hair loss will progress in future. If my hair recede, I may require another hair transplant. I don't want it to be a cycle.
3. It's a surgery. Although relatively safe and doctor is great. Bit still a surgery.
4. I will have to take finasteride and other medications for a long time to retain my existing hair, strength of hair. Long term side effects, I cannot say at this point in time.

Hair System Pros

1. I can have the density I want. i can go for a natural looking one.
2. I an afford to buy a new hair system every 4 months or so (this is relative)
3. I don't have to take finasteride etc.. medications. I will taper it down. concentrate on good diet, sleep etc.
4. It is not my own natural hair. But if others cannot make out, I really don't have problem with that.
5. I have good hair on crown and back. I will only get a partial patch to cover front and middle.

Hair System cons