Over One Year In And I'm Losing Hope

couldbebetter

Reaction score
So I've been using Minoxodil since August 2015 and Nizoral since February 2015. I got modest results out of it - enough that I could feel confident with the right haircut. I looked okay. However, I seem to have regressed slightly. A lot.

My hair is still healthy - one of the primary benefits I got out of using Minoxodil was that it made my hairs much thicker and darker - no more pale and wispy hairs. However, there seems to be far less of it now than there was a few months ago - maybe even less than from before I started. Now I appear to shed whenever I use Nizoral (which I stopped using for a few months, and recently started using again), and my scalp is often in a state of mild discomfort, like it's burning. I thought the Nizoral would fix it, but it doesn't seem to have much of an effect now. It's like everything has stopped working.

My hair still looks reasonable, since it's still dark and healthy, but there's so much less of it now. A few months ago I noticed it was getting worse, but I assumed it was just another shed and would stop within a couple of weeks or months, but it's still falling out. My hairline isn't suffering too much - still somewhere between NW1 and 2 - closer to 2 - but overall density has taken a massive hit. Today I was blowdrying my hair, and could see virtually my entire scalp when my hair was lifted up.

What's more is that I have this patch of hair near my crown (off to the side) that's much shorter and possibly (I'm not sure) slightly thinner than the rest of my hair. I have no idea what that's about, but it isn't helping. It's led me to apply more Minoxodil to the crown area, just in case.

It also doesn't help that Minoxodil is so oily, and actually makes my hair look even thinner - an effect that is magnified now.