Need opinion on hair grafting (FUT) on 24 yo male

jared_24

Established Member
Reaction score
hey guys.

I'm a 24 y/o male suffering with hairloss. It started when I was about 18/19 and has gradually gotten worse and worse as time has gone on. I'd say i'm currently a "III" on the Norwood scale. I've been using Regaine (5% solution) for the past 3 years and although it seems to be maintaining and regrowing hair on my crown, its not working that well on my badly receding hairline (my worst area at the moment!) Not only that, but the hair that it has grown back is really thick and wirey and isn't the same texture as the rest of my hair....

Anyways, last week I went for a consultation at a local clinic about getting a hair graft (FUT). From the research I've done and the pics I've seen on the internet - it did sound like the perfect answer! The guy that did my consultation said I would get an excellent result from the surgery, but he STRONGLY recommended that I take Dutasteride afterwards, as this would prevent any further hairloss (tho it is a bit pricey - £500/600 per year for the rest of my life!! :shock: ) He also stated that if I were to take Dutasteride, absolutely no more hairloss would occur and it would maintain/improve the hair I already have.

I really don't know what to do for the best.... having the surgery would give me a MAJOR confidence boost, but with me being so young I feel a bit aprehensive about the long term effects and how it's going to look when i'm in my late 30-40's. Should even further hairloss kick in, i doubt I'd be able to have even more surgery (due to the limited 'donor' area) nor would I be able to shave my head due to the visible scars?!?

It's so frustrating.. I came out of the consultation on a high and was 100% adament that I would definitely have the operation, but the more research I do on the internet the more negative things I read about (esp. having the surgery done at such a young age.)