My First Progress Update And Future Expectations/advice

Johnt1997

Established Member
My Regimen
Reaction score
Hi, guys, this is my first ever post on a site like this but i think it will be good for me to become a more active member; beats boring friends and family to tears with it anyway!

Anyway, i'm 19 now but believe ive been losing hair for about 2 years roughly. Dad was nw7 in 20s so was obviously extremely concerned when i first noticed hairloss. Think ive been an nw2 for ages and just didnt really diagnose myself properly(denial). Noticed crown thinning last year which prompted me to stop burying head in the sand.

Considered minoxidil and finasteride last year for a few weeks but was scared off by 'horrible side effects'. Decided to just accept my hairloss. However, events in my personal life changed my outlook on treatment and i hopped on 5 and 12.5 minoxidil in April 2016(4 months ago)
Apologies only have one 'before' photo due to data loss on phone. The rest are all from today in various lighting conditions
Screenshot_2016-09-06-23-01-13.png Snapchat-3256593181489526784.jpg View attachment 43184 View attachment 43185
Do you guys think i should get on finasteride asap? Id like to get back to an nw1 in a perfect world, however im aware of realistic expectations

Any replies are greatly appreciated
John

Attachments

• Snapchat-5467731527987655156.jpg
    Snapchat-5467731527987655156.jpg
    100.5 KB · Views: 1,102
  • 20160906_200813.jpg
    20160906_200813.jpg
    81.5 KB · Views: 1,088
  • 20160906_164624.jpg
    20160906_164624.jpg
    95.6 KB · Views: 1,102
  • 20160906_164506.jpg
    20160906_164506.jpg
    91.8 KB · Views: 1,072

Pereira

Established Member
Reaction score
If your dad went NW7 in his 20's and you are noticing hairloss then yes, you should monitor your hair.

You caught it early, so if you decide to start finasteride, maybe start with lower dose of finasteride (0.25mg) and adjust with time if needed.

Johnt1997

Established Member