Is 26 too old to date an 18 year old (19 next week)?

souldoctor

Reaction score
Well that's my question....just asking if there is much point entertaining the idea of taking things further with this girl I met a few weeks back in a club?? The problem is she's 18 and a fresher/freshman at uni, whereas i'm a 2nd yr doctor (resident i guess u'd call it in USA)! I just happen to look extremely young for my age (I'm 26)..(partly cos propecia seems to be working on the whole..!) and got chatting to her, and she added me on facebook and then I realised she's 18, then gave me her number, and we've just been texting ever since. Thing is we're gonna meet up tomorrow, and my idea is to call the whole thing off on principle, i.e not even give it a chance. Is this wise?? I feel like I should just finish it otherwise if I allow it to continue and I actually end up liking her somehow then it's just gonna be stupid. Also I feel like I've probably led her on a bit by replying to her texts and generally being nice to her as I thought that would be better than just ignoring her and hurting her for no reason, even though I know she's interested cos she is very flirty in her texts.

What would you guys do, should i just be a man and leave her to her own fresher guys you think?? She's only 18 (well 19 next week), she's a kid really, I don't wanna hurt her feelings or use her and I want to go out with someone my own age probably and more mature. But if we do get on and I feel like I want to see her again am I being inappropriate and silly?

Petchsky

Reaction score
Errrr, i'm literally about to gobto bed, but saw this, and i'd say no....depends, if you enjoy talking to this girl, then age should not be something that holds you back. Sometimes people are older than their actual age implies, there is no definitive answer anyone here can give you, but i think it would be shame to knock something on the head before giving it a chance, what you got to lose?

s.a.f

Reaction score
Wait a week.