I need help/advice!!!

CanadianCutie

Reaction score
hi, I'm new to tis forum. i'm a 19 yr old girl experiencing hairloss for over 1 yr now. My once thick hair is has thinned to da point dat i have small bald spots. I had numerous blood tests which all came back normal. i went to my family Doctor, a dermologist & endocrinologist and recieved no treatment or diganosis for da hair loss, so out of sheer desperation i began treating myself wit herbals and vitamins - basically ANYTHING dat was good for hair loss. jus recently i finally convinced my Doctor to take me seriously and he prescribed me spironolactone. for da past 1 month my daily routine includes:

1. Shen Min herbal supplement (twice daily)
2. Saw Palmetto (twice daily)
3. Iron pills (once daily)
4. Zinc (once daily)
5. Spironolactone (twice daily @ 25mg)
6. Green tea (every morning)
7. Nizoral Shampoo (twice weekly as rec)

Has anyone had success wit this herbal/vitamin cocktail or wit spironolactone? these treatments are VERY expensive and so far i've seen no results althought most of da stuff take a couple of months to work. Is it normal to lose hair at tis age? Can hair regrow after it has been loss - one Doctor told me dat once u lose scalp hair it never full comes back...i'm very depressed and need answers.

PS sorry about da long post but i'm very desperate and would love to hear a success story.

mariejoe

Established Member
Reaction score
Have you read through the research on hair loss on this site: http://www.hairlosstalk.com/research/women/index.htm and the section on PROVEN and other hair loss treatments: http://www.hairlosstalk.com/productreviews/ and FAQ's: http://www.hairlosstalk.com/faq/

This would be a place to start.
Also, I would hate to see you waste your $$ on Shen Min. It doesn't seem to work well: http://www.hairlosstalk.com/discussions ... t=shen+min