Dermarolling - Cancer Concern? Proteasome Inhibitor In Follica Patent

HairGrowthHunger

My Regimen
Reaction score
Hey guys,
This is my 1st post on this forum. I have been interested in the dermarolling/dermapen hype that has recently taken over the site.
A couple items however have me concerned, and I am by no means an expert but wanted to reach out for thoughts.
I read through the new follica patent for their wounding device, and their device delivers a proteasome inhibitor while wounding. Could this be a preventative measure to prevent cancer? I'm not trying to fear-monger, but hear me out. I believe wounding is theorized to work with wnt signaling, the 'sonic hedgehog' pathway, correct? I remember a product/company years ago (can't remember which one) which had a promising treatment based of the sonic hedgehog pathway which was shelved due to cancer concerns.
With wounding, we are continuously damaging our skin, I tried 2mm last week and noticed some skin peeling, not unlike a sunburn. It is known sunburn raises skin cancer risk.
Any thoughts? Anyone wiser who can shed some light on this? Seeing the proteasome inhibitor in the follica patent raised a red flag for me, I am probably just being a hychondriac...but wanted to through the idea out there.
Thanks!

Bankai

My Regimen
Reaction score
Actually I don't know. But I think you can't compare the effects of a sunburn with microneedling. Sunburns change the DNA-structure of our cells through UV radiation. If the Skin cannot repair these Cells as they need to, mutations can cause skin cancer. Microneedling uses no UV radiation, nor do you change the dna structure through wounding. If that would be the case our skin would give herself cancer, without adding any ingredients.
But I really don't know.

Francesco17

Established Member
My Regimen
Reaction score
LThis ia interesting. However, I would dismiss the equation needling=sunburn. Sunburn damage is mediated by UV rays,