Considering Gradually Stop Minoxidil Whilst On Finasteride

JOJOdeshu

My Regimen
Reaction score
Sorry for my English as I am an universtity student in China. I suffered Androgenetic Alopecia from October last year, and I began to use minoxidil and spirolactone(i stopped it after 2 months). So I used 2% minoxidil for 1 month and then used 5% minoxidil(liquid) till now(about 4 months). My hair situation did improved, but i found it messy to apply minoxidil and that mino just maintain your hair while dosent block DHT. So i add finasteride to my regime.

My question is: Can i gradually stop minoxidil to avoid a huge shed?
I'v heard that some people have nice result using fina only. M
y hair situation is not very severe and i have no problem with my hairline, only thin scalp. I know that all the hair that mino regrowed will shed once stopped, but fina can help them grow back after that. I guess If I reduce the dose and frequency of mino, then i shed some hair, but fina help them regrow after several months, then i repeat the process, will my hair consistently in a shed-and-regrow process? Therefore though i lost all the hair mino regrowed, i avoid the huge shedding and my hair will not be bad like stop mino cold turkey. Can i do this?

JOJOdeshu

My Regimen
Reaction score
the quitting process can be very long(Maybe 8 or more month), can I successfully quit it without shedding too much?(i dont care some shedding)

el_duterino

Reaction score
You can use oral minoxidil
Works well, cheap
I take 5mg a day

Night

Established Member
Reaction score
You can use oral minoxidil
Works well, cheap
I take 5mg a day
I've been considering this but people have scared me with the blood pressure stuff. How long have you taken it? 5mg split twice? Or just once?

Mighty

Established Member
My Regimen
Reaction score