Any programmers?

ali777

Reaction score
Need help with the homework :woot: ? Fire away... I'll send you the answer in the morning :)

IBM is a programmer, Gemini X is software developer (I think), the guy that gets paid $50 an hour to design this forum is a programmer :whistle:. I guess I'm a programmer too, I'm actually an engineer. C/C++/Matlab are my tools.

GNUist (formerly FC)

Established Member
Reaction score
You should use free software such as GNU Octave
or GSL rather than proprietary software like Matlab, whose restrictions impede on your freedom.

Also, these are all coded in C, so you might be able to do more with them. What kind of an engineer are you to be using Matlab?

cuebald

Reaction score
I think you've listened to a bit too much Stallman videos, mate (or should I say, "rms")

2007_0607stallman0029.jpg

You've gotta admit though, check out that hair! no wonder he is such an influence on the Free software community!

ali777

Reaction score
I do have octave installed both on XP and Linux. I don't need MathWorks' version of Matlab.

I don't believe in "freedom". It's just an alternative marketing strategy, where the software is given away for free but the services cost money. Besides, most of the "free" stuff is annoyingly under documented. Sometimes it's more cost effective to use proprietary software.

If you had to go through every single line of a long code to understand how it works, you'd know what I mean by "under documented".

I use whatever I think is best for the given task....

cuebald

Reaction score
Free Software is documented a lot better than proprietry software imo.
IRC channels and Forums have answered my questions very well (they only badmouth idiots).
Paid support will always find some bullshit ("This is not part of your contract sir. You must pay extra for this support.")

Ever seen any code or manpages for any Windows apps?

GNUist (formerly FC)

Established Member
Reaction score
ali777 said: