1st System Ever! Total Cover Plus - With Questions

terryezzo

My Regimen
Reaction score
Hi everyone, im new to the forum and to hair replacement in general. I have been thinning for years (Im 47) to the point that I no longer wanted to go out anywhere without a hat. I tried hair implants but was unsuitable etc so I looked into hair systems. I didnt even know they existed, sure I know about wigs but thought they would look bad. Total Cover Plus was the first system I looked into and I read all the reviews and as a newbie, I decided to go for it. I didnt want to get a system where I have to stick it on myself as this worried me so basically I took the plunge without doing too much research on other systems. I didnt even know about lace, mesh etc.

So I got my appointment and they colour matched me and then I had it fitted and styled. I went away feeling very strange, anxious and uncertain as this was a drastic change in the way I looked. I was concened because it looked like it has way to much 'volume' to the hair - it was too 'big'. When getting it cut I kept telling the stylist to cut the 'weight' out of it but it was not enough and my wife thought it looked weird.

I went to another salon the following day and explained the situation and the lady spend 30 mins thinning out the hair and now im very pleased with it. Id give it 8/10 but it has way boosted my confidence so all in all im very pleased with my new look.

Going forward Im unsure if the next system should be tailor made (as Ive read so much about) or another one like I have now. This one took only 10 days to arrive so I do have some questions.

What is the advantages of a tailor made system? The one I have now fits well and blends in however I do have grey hairs on the side. Would a tailor made one be able to accomadate this?

The density / weight / volume of the unit was way too much, it didnt look right for someone my age so is there a way to get one made with a lot less 'hair' to it?