Why do guys rock the "Larry David" or "Danny Devito"??

Averagejoe

Reaction score
Why do guys with a little hair and the sides and back keep it?
Anybody at that point should just shave it!
Looks really silly IMO

cuebald

Reaction score
Certain older men (those in their 40's upwards) here have the image of guys who are Sly as being more "non-conformist" - it's not considered a very professional style by older people.

The horseshoe might look a disaster, but it's basically the expected style for all older white collar workers.

I work in a School and all the bald 40+'s rock the Horseshoe look, while every bald man under 30 is either totally sly, or has buzzed down to grade 1/2. It seems accepted for a younger guy to go sly, but it would be completely unexpected on an older man. (This is based on what I see here in the UK.)

Interestingly enough, the School prohibits the children from going Sly, and they sometimes ask "why can Mr Soandso shave his head and I can't?" and nobody has an answer; nobody wants to point out the fact that that teacher is bald.

s.a.f

Reaction score
Simple until recently (this century) shaving it all off was a pretty odd thing to do. There still exists a a sterotype for some people when they see a shaved head they think of a thug or fascist. So for guys over 30/40 that idea may still be in their minds.
Also some guys dont suit the shaved look they think it makes them look ill or unhealthy. Lets face it having hair on your head is the natural look for a human being even if you are a balding guy. Until recently there has never been any time in history when it was cosidered normal for a white western male to opt for a shaved head. and some guys just want their hair, they'll keep whatever remains of it rather than totally lose it all.
Plus with a guy like Larry David his reasoning is "hey I'm bald everybody knows it and shaving the little bit that remains is'nt going to convince anyone that I've opted to look this way".

Averagejoe