Thinning from minoxidil?

hoople

Reaction score
Ok, so i've been using minoxidil once a day for the last six months. I started off on 2% and then moved to 3.5%. Before using minoxidil I never counted my hair loss, I basically started minoxidil as soon as I was diagnosed as having Androgenetic Alopecia. I also think I have had Telogen Effluvium for many years. Now that i've been on minoxidil for six months I have seen my hair thin even further, also my scalp is itchy and burns sometimes. I have been shedding 100-200 on shower days and about 50 on non-shower days. I don't know how much I was shedding pre-minoxidil. I also had the minoxidil dread shed. I have however noticed a very small amount of regrowth, but generally my hair has thinned. Is this the minoxidil or just the natural progression of Androgenetic Alopecia? I don't know what to do. Should I stop using it? If I stop I lose the small amount of regrowth I have, if I continue I may further wreck my hair.
Can anyone advise me, I feel stuck between a rock and a hard place :-(.
Thankyou.
Julie

JohnnySeville

Established Member
Reaction score
Not sure why you are using those offbrand minoxidil blends, you should be using the Rogaine Foam for best results. Also I notice topical saw palmetto in you regime. That will do nothing for you, either replace it with oral finasteride or if you are apprehensive about sides, then use either Revivogen or topical spironolactone to take care of the DHT issue. You can keep the Nizoral and Laser comb.

hoople

Reaction score
yes i'm a woman, 30 yr old.
I use kirkland minoxidil as I can't afford the foam, unfortunately.
thanks for the advice :)

Snoogans

Reaction score
hoople said:
yes i'm a woman, 30 yr old.
I use kirkland minoxidil as I can't afford the foam, unfortunately.
thanks for the advice :)

buying in bulk from amazon only sets you back $20/month for foam...

its so choice

otis

Experienced Member
Reaction score