Thinking of throwing in the towel

lkm370

Established Member
Reaction score
In 3 months I will turn 25. I have been battling hair loss for about 2 years. started both finasteride and dutasteride a year ago and it kept the rest of my hair from falling out. my brother was visibly bald by my age now so the meds did their part. despite the fact I have retained my hair, I'm thinking of just tossing in the towel and sending the rest of my hair to the Norwood cementary. Why?

1) my hair continues to thin and recede albeit slowly.
2) my hair is always greasy, brittle, and thin
3) I have terrible dandruff that never goes away
4) worried about what unknown effect dutasteride and finasteride will have on my future health
5) I'm beginning to suspect these drugs are giving me severe mood swings and depression. ever since I started my regimen, I have frequent bouts of severe debilitating depression.
6) massively shedding lately. cant run my hands through my hair without a s*it ton of hair falling.

and most importantly of all:

7) just time to up and face the fact I'm not meant to have hair. despite taking both finasteride and dutasteride, I'm still losing hair. whats the ****ing point anymore. the inevitable is coming.

here I sit with a Norwood 1.5 hairline and I just don't have it me to keep fighting this. I never thought I'd accept letting myself go bald but for the sake of my sanity and peace of mind, I just want to say **** it.

am I making the right decision on this or am I just being hasty?

swingline747

My Regimen
Reaction score
In 3 months I will turn 25. I have been battling hair loss for about 2 years. started both finasteride and dutasteride a year ago and it kept the rest of my hair from falling out. my brother was visibly bald by my age now so the meds did their part. despite the fact I have retained my hair, I'm thinking of just tossing in the towel and sending the rest of my hair to the Norwood cementary. Why?