the lowdown on dutasteride. . .

jetsman5ian

Reaction score
could someone let me know the details of dutasterine (i think thats how its spelt)

my hair is receding quite quickly and ive been shedding for two months now and i was wondering if dutasteride would work for me

wuts the difference between dutasteride and finasteride?

do i need a prescription?

cost?

how long for results?

side effects?

just all the basics

thanx guys

Jaygee

Established Member
Reaction score
Somebody answer dis man----I've been wondering about its availibility myself.

mvpsoft

Experienced Member
Reaction score
Dutasteride inhibits both enzymes that catalyze the reaction to produce DHT. Furthermore, dutasteride inhibits more of the enzyme that appears to be the guilty party in producing DHT in the scalp. So it is presumably a more potent weapon against hair loss than is finasteride. However, the manufacturer has not completed the FDA tests so that the FDA will allow them to claim it is effective against hair loss. Reportedly, those tests were discontinued because the manufacturer didn't believe the likely return on investment justified the costs of the tests. As a result, dutasteride is approved by the FDA for combatting enlarged benign enlarged prostates only.

You need a prescription for dutasteride in the US. Most doctors will not write you a prescription to use it for hair loss, since they are not supposed to do that. However, you can buy it from offshore sources without a prescription. Here are two sources.

http://www.unitedpharmacies.com/

http://www.antiaging-systems.com/home.htm