The effect of Ginseng on male pattern baldness

Jonathan

Reaction score
Hi,

I am 24 years old and suffering from male pattern baldness. I have been on Propecia now for about 10 months or so, and generally I think my hairloss has stopped or at least significantly slowed down, since friends tell me they think my hair looks better than a year ago (but ofcourse they are getting used to my balding).

Anyway except for Propecia I am also taking Solgar multi-vitamins VM-2000 (http://www.solgar.com/cgi-bin/online_reference_new/online_ref.pl?function=Product&id=96824544729345) and my father bought me some korean ginseng, because he said it is good for the overall body, potency (since Propecia will lower libido) and muscle growth (I have been working out for the last 10 months or so). But then I was reading up on ginseng and I read this on HerbMed:

Spermatozoa number and motility and plasma testosterone, DHT, FSH and LH levels increased in men taking ginseng while PRL decreased in a study with 66 patients Salvati 1996

What the f***!? DHT levels increased? I am taking Propecia to lower the DHT levels! Anyone any advice or experience!?

Thanks!
Jonathan

Rudiratlos

Reaction score
dont worry ginseng doesnt do anything with your testosteron/DHT...thats what they want you to believe (like tribulus terrestis doesnt do anything with your test/LH to)

Ginseng does someting with your acetylcholin (receptor) cauzing a NO release (hence the somewhat libido enhancing effect and relaxation of muscle )

ginseng is a direct (weak) and indirect antioxidant (endothelial nitric oxide synthase stimulation)

the combination Ginseng/tribulis is good for improved erections ;-)
and doesnt have any influence on your endocrine system..

dont use these supllemnts every day for a long period..caz toxity isnt clear

Jonathan

Reaction score