Tape/glue breaking down seeping into system and bio hair

HairSystemUk

My Regimen
Reaction score
I’ve been wearing a system for 9 months now. I had my first one fitted in July which was a poly/mono base with lace front. Unfortunately, the front shed very quickly and the salon said this was due to a manufacturer issue, so they replaced it under warranty. They couldn’t get a like for like replacement so replaced it with a what I think was a PU front. I have an exposed hairline and this system looked ridiculous. It was way too thick and dense and just a wall of hair. So, after two months I went to a different salon who suggested a lace with poly perimeter system which they could supply.

I’ve been wearing this now since December and have been having 3 weekly maintenance sessions. However I’m really struggling with the system. The first two weeks it is always perfect but by the third week the tape starts to break down and I can feel it seeping around the edge and crown onto the system and my bio hair.

The system is applied with tape all around and I change the fronts myself. I’m not confident enough to do a full reinstall but was wondering is there anything I can do to get a longer hold/stop the seepage?

How do people wear all lace, workout regularly and get such long hold times? Is it something I’m doing wrong? Also whats the best way to clear the seepage in between maintenance sessions (if that’s even possible, my stylist said to just comb some lace release gently through?). Given the current situation I want the system to last as long as possible but I feel it’s not going to with this issue.

Last edited:

jimlad

Established Member
Reaction score
You could ask about a different tape - it could be that this one disagrees with your chemistry. That said, I find the idea of three weeks without changing tapes unimaginable.