taking proscar since 1997

decker

Reaction score
Time to facts, I've been meaning to join and get some help/advice with my current problem.
You could probably say I'm a bit of a veteran when it comes to fighting male pattern baldness. I first started taking proscar in 1997 just after my wife got pregnant with our first child. This was my first experince with proscar (finasteride 5mg) and I was able to give it enough time to see a very good reponse within 10 months. I had regained a lot of hair after it became very thin on top and at the front. The next few years saw me taking one tablet a day, half in the morning, half before bed, four months on one month off without any further loss. Anyway fast fwd to the the start of 2006 and I made the switch to propecia (sp?) due to anxiety with finasteride affecting my kidneys and brain due to long term use. After three months of propecia (1mg/day) I noticed thinning on the frontal sides and crown so I made the switch back proscar in October. Now here's my problem , for the past two-three weeks I have been experiencing heavy shedding, to the point were I can see my scalp in bright light, itchy greasy scalp and intermitent burning sensation more so when the hair hasn't been washed and is oily. I have started washing my hair with nizoral every two days, something I haven't needed to do for years, because if the oily scalp and itch/burning.
I don't want to increase the proscar, honestly I'm afraid what long term use can do.
Obviouly this subject needs more reading on my behalf, something I will do when I get more time, but any feedback would be highly appreciated.
It feels better just talking about it.

Current regime:
One 5 mg proscar, half AM & half PM
Multi Vit
Nizoral , every two days

Thanks.

roki

Experienced Member
Reaction score
change to dutastride
0.5 mg ever other day will give you a much stronger effect then the proscar
you can start minoxidil foam as well to address the problem from another angel