spironolactone & Reviogen Vs dutasteride

KEVING

Established Member
Reaction score
Ok i have been investigating changing my finasteride dose to something else. I have decided to do this as i think the finasteride is giving me side affects of acne which is very troublesome.
I have been using finasteride for about 10 months and was taken 1mg a day, i then reduced this too 0.6mg but still the spots

People have suggested dutasteride, but this may have the same if not worse effect that finasteride did to me!!!

My only other option that is proven is spironolactone and reviogen. Could users of this please give me there opinion!!??

Will it work as good as finasteride, will it just pick up where finasteride stops or will i have to start from scratch again??

Please help HairLossTalk.com. Need experienced help here.

KEVING

Established Member
Reaction score
I should probably say im losing my hair on my crown. My temples are losing it but only gradually.

Just need some answers, experienced posters please help

Thanks

Dinzy

Established Member
Reaction score
I was not aware that finasteride could cause acne. Are you sure it is the finasteride and not something else? Have you tried treating the acne?

I look at dutasteride as a super finasteride since it has the same effect on DHT as finasteride does plus it blocks the other enzyme that facilitates T -> DHT. If it is the hormonal change that is causing this acne then dutasteride would most likely still have that effect.

As far as revivogen and spironolactone go they are not proven as you claim hence they are not part of the big 3. So no they won't work as well as finasteride and you would probably get more out of minoxidil than those two.

How bad is the acne? Did you have bad acne when you were younger?

KEVING

Established Member
Reaction score
Its improved since lowering to 0.6mg but i think it generally makes my skin blotchy etc.