Quiting Rogaine. Should I Do It And What Are Your Experiences?

Hajo1992

Reaction score
Hey guys,

I have been using Rogaine since 2015, just after my hair transplant (mainly in the front). I used it every day, twice a day. Just as advised. However, I kept losing hair and decided to go for another hair transplant late 2017.

From early 2017 or late 2016, I had decided to use Rogaine only once a day. My hair got all greasy in the morning and it wasn't showing much results after two years of usage. The hair transplants basically cover my whole head now and just a light pomade and Toppik for the finishing touch. I'm much happier with my hair now then I was in 2012/2013 when my hair loss started.

Anyway, right now, I'm thinking about quiting Minoxidil. I kept losing hair while using the product and there are only a few untransplanted hairs left on my head. I kept making pictures and there is still some thinning going on there even with the use of Minoxidil.

What do you think?

tl;dr, have been using Minoxidil for a number of years, not much result in regrowth or slowing down hair loss.

Yakitori

Experienced Member
My Regimen
Reaction score
Losing hair is one thing but losing ground is what is most important. If you lose hair but keep the overall look, then it's probably doing what it's supposed to. If, on the other hand, you lose ground you might wanna consider quitting, at least for the sake of letting go of the hassle of using it.

Popping a pill is far easier and doesn't devour your life like a topical solution might do, in terms of scheduling/planning around your hair loss. While minoxidil didn't work for me in any way except just flat out losing hair, stopping it helped me mentally at the very least, not magnifying and thinking about my hair loss all the time.

Hajo1992

Reaction score
Try it with microneedling and check back in a few months.