Question From A Scared Newbie About Shedding And My Routine

testaccnt99

Reaction score
Hey there! I’m new to hair loss, and I’ve been on Finasteride for 4 weeks, and Rogaine for 2 weeks! I’ve also been using 1% Nizoral shampoo M/W/F for 2 weeks, with Pura D’or shampoo on the off-days, and Pura D’or conditioner on all days! Here’s my problem. I’ve been shedding more than normal since about a week after starting the Finasteride, and then a little more intensely with the Rogaine. I wasn’t worried about it until I noticed (and had confirmed by my girlfriend) that in just this past week my hairline/widow’s peak has become, to a very close observer, thinner and more receded. Even since just a week ago. This is a much faster rate than I was visibly losing hair before any treatments at all. Is it normal for temporary shedding from Finasteride, Rogaine, and Shampoos to have this effect? People often mention the shedding, but they don’t say if the shedding can cause visibly thinner hair in the short-term. I also think my face is getting a little puffy, perhaps from the Minoxidil. I have lost a little weight in the past 2 weeks, but my girlfriend thinks my face looks a little chubbier. No sexual side effects from the Fina!

So aside from asking if anybody else shedded to the degree of a visibly more receded and thinner hairline, I also was hoping that somebody could please, please look over my routine and let me know if I’m doing anything wrong, or if any red flags are popping out? The minoxidil part makes me nervous because it seems difficult to do. I’m not visibly balding on top of my head or at my crown yet, so I’m not sure if I’m applying it correctly. And could minoxidil used improperly with my receding hairline cause more intense, non-temporary shedding?

Thanks so much for giving it a look! I’m trying really hard to stay calm and not be obsessive about this whole hair loss process. :)