Opinions on Rogaine

biff

Established Member
Reaction score
I have been using Rogaine for a couple of years but I am now questioning its effectiveness. I did think it could be slowing down the balding process but without going back in time there is no way of knowing. I recently took a break from it for a week and my head was far less itchy and I also found that not as many hairs fell out. Since I have been back on it I have had loads of hairs fall out! What do you lot think about Rogaine?

dead

Experienced Member
Reaction score
Rogaine does not slow down the balding process, it simply extends the anagen phase of the hairs growth cycle resulting (in most people) in an increase in haircount.

The underlying balding process (Dihydrotestosterone 'attacking' the hair follicle) will continune unchecked, eventually the additional 'offset' of hair grown with Rogaine will be less than hair lost to male pattern baldness, this usually happens around year 2 (which fits in with your questioning it's efficacy at year 2).

The PPG (as opposed to the active ingredient 'minoxidil') is most likely to be causeing your itchy scalp, Dr Lee makes a reduced PPG minoxidil formula (like Rogaine) using this and a shampoo like T/Gel or Nizoral (or even both) on a regular basis such bring the itching to an end.

What do you lot think about Rogaine?

Rogaine and other minoxidil formulas are the best growth stimulants we currently have, Rogaine works well in the majority of men with male pattern baldness who have not gone completely bald. The drying time can be an issue for some (it was too much for me) so products like Dr Lees standard minoxidil formula (which drys in 15 minutes) should be considered.