not a propecia bashing thread.

jimmystanley

Experienced Member
Reaction score
okay...i'm not being negative about propecia...in fact i will say "Propecia does exactly what it claims to do...blocks 5 -alpha R thus having some effect on hair loss"...

i have been using it for 2 years and have quit 3 weeks ago due to very low sex drive. in the last year i went down to .5mgs and in the last 6 months i was down to .3mgs. after 3 weeks my sex drive has gotten better..but it is still no where back to normal...i hear that after being on it for 2 years it may take up to 6 months to get DHT levels back to normal.

i haven't gone through my "shed" yet...but i am wondering if that's just because of my low DHT levels.

My question is:

When my DHT levels go back to normal this means that my sex drive will go back to normal. So, when i see that my sex drive is back to normal then i should assume that i have high DHT levels and that i should be experiencing more hair loss. However, i'm not really sure how well Propecia protected me from hairloss...i would shed like crazy every day... months at a time it was way worse and i also saw a big drop in how much hair i had...So, do you guys think that once my DHT levels go back to normal i will go through a shed?

thanks for your help

socks

Experienced Member
Reaction score
Jimmystanley,

It is pretty straight forward and has been answered a million times over :)

If Finasteride was having a beneficial effect on your hair (whether you were aware of it or not) and you quit, over a period of a year your hair will decline.

If Finasteride was not having a beneficial effect then you may not notice any negative changes over a period of a year.

As far as the sex drive... Well assuming it was Finasteride and not another factor (depression/placebo effect/ect) then the effects of Finasteride should resolve themselves over a period of a few weeks to a few months.