Need some advice for my first regimen!

wheyface33

Established Member
Reaction score
I am going to begin to tackle my male pattern baldness as soon as this semester's finals are over. Before I do so, I have a couple of questions.

Some quick info: Receding at the temples. I'm not even a Norwood 2 yet, but on the way. I'm also beginning to see very, very slight thinning in the frontal area...undetectable to probably anyone but me so stopping that would be great. No thinning in the crown or vertex, full head of hair other then the aforementioned. Losing hair relatively slowly...been balding for about 2, 3 years and not even a Norwood 2. I am interested mostly in maintaining what I have and strengthening the thinning and dying hairs. If I can do that, I'd be ecstatic. Of course, regrowth would be even better though. I am a realist, I realize that treatments don't even gurantee maintainence let alone regrowth.

1. How expensive is proscar? I'm a college student and thus poor.

2. Should I use minoxidil? I'm reading a lot about it growing hairs that don't last long. If so, what kind? How much would that be?

3. I know I should use a special shampoo to aid the regimen, but what kind of shampoo should I use? Some say TGel, some Nizoral, etc. Which is best for me?

4. Where should I get my products from?

Thanks in advance, and keep fighting the good fight. :D

P.S. Isn't it weird how concerned we are with losing hair. Step out of the box and think about it...its hair. We don't even need it. Weird... :?

Reaction score
Hi there.
The general approach to treatment for new people is as follows:

For the first year ONLY USE:

Propecia (or 1/4 of Proscars)
Nizoral Shampoo twice a week.

In most people this is enough to maintain and if you're lucky a little regrowth.

NOW, if you don't have success with this regimen in the first year, IN THE SECOND YEAR you can then add the minoxidil 5%. You can get Rogaine or Kirkland from Costco or from eBay.