My Story - A College Freshman

mn10

Reaction score
Hey everyone, this forum has been helping me out a lot so I decided to finally make an account and make this thread. By the time I graduated high school, I had a full head of hair and went into college full of hope and optimism. By the end of my first year of college, my self confidence is pretty much all but completely destroyed. The best way to describe how my hair affects my daily life is that my hair is constantly on my mind. I sit in the back of lectures so people don't sit above me and can see the top of my head, I shy away from people significantly taller than me, I stopped looking for a partner completely, and I'm counting every hair that falls out of my head.

For a bit of background: I'm currently 19 years old (20 in October 2015), and I live a rather healthy lifestyle in that I'm normal weight for my size and age, I have a lot of physical activity (I play american football for my school and if I'm not playing I'm lifting weights), and I have no significant medical conditions/outstanding health issues. As far as my family history goes, my mother's father died with a decent head of hair, definitely thinning but still hair. My father on the other hand is completely bald, as is his father. The main difference, however, is that my father started balding in high school. Looking at his senior picture his hair was very noticeably thinning before he even graduated. My brother is 2 years older, and his hair is very receded but his crown isn't as thin as mine is. For my treatment, I started finasteride a little over a month ago (I started ~ June 15th) 2.5mg (I couldn't get the 5mg pill any smaller than half), and I honestly haven't noticed much of a change. I know it is still extremely early.