My medical opinion of finasteride.

Status
Not open for further replies.
G

Let me start by telling you a little bit about myself and what i'm doing here. I am a doctor, i teach pharmacology and internal medicine at medical school. I have a phD on medicine. I cannot reveal my name or other personal information because of my possible conflicted intrest with pharmaceutical company.
In my work i have seen increasing amount of people (especially young people) demandind propecia or proscar for MHB. Some of them had good information but others had :freaked2: .
The reason why i am here is because i want to share with you guys some medical facts about finasteride treating hairlose. I'm not here to judge but more give you my personal and medical opinion.

1. Propecia can’t be harmful because it has been used so many years as prostate medicine.

-Finasteride has been used primarily as Bening prostate hyperplasia treatment for 15 years. It’s effect is based on reducing the size of prostate and therefore minimizing symptoms caused by large prostate. There isn’t any evidence that finasteride reduce prostate cancer mortality since prostate cancer and prostate hyperplasia are two different things.

The reason why we can’t rely on the assumption that finasteride is safe even for the long period of time, is that main consumers of Proscar/Gefina are >50yr. males. Because cancer and cardiovascular risk always arise with age, we cannot performe a reliable long-term affect on those people. Elderly’s body go through a lot of changes and a big part of them will get cancers or/and cardio diseases, so we can’t know if it’s because of finasteride or just natural cause. Simply put, we do not know if finasteride has long term affect on other organs because there is no known scientific method to prove that. The only option is to wait and see.