Minoxidil sure works, another strange question...

uratramp1

Reaction score
hi guys, I really hope you guys can help me with this one. Please bare with me while I explain poorly, my 'issue'. Thanks. I have been using minoxidil for 11 months now, finasteride for 8 months. I have been applying the minoxidil to the temples with great success. I am losing my hair like PM Blair, er, or like Phil Collins, in terms of 'shape'. Fine, I have seen hair 'thicken' where I apply the minoxidil (i.e - the temples). However, over the last couple of months I have noticed that I have started to thin - just beyond the temples, in patches :? :cry: ...and I have noticed that I am developing a more 'prominate' side-parting (not by choose), and the hair on my crown is also thinning. These last to occurrences have been more gradual, then the 'patches' situation. What is going on?? - could it be that the finasteride is still shedding hair? Will I probably just end up with hair, only at the temples!!!???? :? :cry: - I am desperate to 'fight' my genes.....my dad is bald....bless you for reading.

uratramp1 :cry:

Stingray

Reaction score
Ask your dad about the pattern he lost his hair in. If you are only applying minoxidil to the temples, then chances are your temples are the only thing getting treatment from it. Propecia will almost invariably NOT cause a shed of healthy hairs. In fact, I see absolutely no reason why finasteride would cause a shed anyways. You're probably just progressing with male pattern baldness, try adding the minoxidil to the other parts of the scalp as well.

G

Uratramp,

First let's tackle the propecia question. 8 months seems to be a magic number for a propecia shed, good or bad. You have to stick to it anyway and wait another 4-10 months to see the fruit of propecia's labour. I would guess that the shed(if it is a shed), is not hitting your hairline because those hairs could be under the control of minoxidil.