Minoxidil side effect - collagen synthesis reduction?

hairgrass

Reaction score
I've been perusing hair loss discussion forums for several years and occassionally come across minixodil users claiming that minoxidil use has made their facial skin look wrinkled and aged. Having just started minoxidil myself I just thought I'd look into this a little further.

There is research out there that proves that Minoxidil does indeed inhibit collagen sythesis. However, I have not come across any studies or documentation that shows minoxidil use on the scalp causing side effects on the face.

I'm curious to know if anyone on this board has looked into this further or has experienced anything similar to this?

live1

Reaction score
i was on minoxidil for 2 months it gave me deep eye wrinkles ,i know it was the minoxidil cos i had no lines under my eyes before i checked my baseline pics ,and after wrinkled deep lines im gutted they have not got better.im never going to use it again,my choice is age 6 years in 2 months and maybe grow some hair .or stay with thin hair and look young.but the damage is done already

hairgrass

Reaction score
live1 said:
i was on minoxidil for 2 months it gave me deep eye wrinkles ,i know it was the minoxidil cos i had no lines under my eyes before i checked my baseline pics ,and after wrinkled deep lines im gutted they have not got better.im never going to use it again,my choice is age 6 years in 2 months and maybe grow some hair .or stay with thin hair and look young.but the damage is done already

How do you know it was the minoxidil and not something else? Maybe a change in diet or any number of things? And why are you so sure the damage is permanent?

I'm not here to judge whether its true or not, I'm just looking for more substantial evidence one way or the other.

live1

Reaction score