minoxidil issue bugging me out- Comments HIGHLY appreciated

iseras

Reaction score
I've been using Revivogen for about 2 years, with good maintanence- However, 4 months ago, i decided to add some minoxidil to get some regrowth- Ever since then, i've honestly noticed that my diffuse hair loss has gotten worse- the hairs that i already had are a bit thicker, but there seems to be much less of it- it's defintintly less dense. Now i'm really not trying to freak anyone out, just seeking a rationale behind this- Could minoxidil actually make things worse? Does it have potential to have a reverse effect for some? My hair is much thinner since minoxidil, and even though I really don't want to, should i quit it?

Also, if i decide to quit minoxidil, would the shed be intollerable? I mean, if minoxidil puts all the hairs on your scalp into growth phase, and then you stop it, wouldn't they all just go to rest phase, basically causing a full shed of exisiting hairs? Then you'd have to wait another 6 months at least before they grow alone, assuming that the exisiting ones aren't even minoxidil dependent.

Please, comments on both questions/issues are highly appreciated.

JesusFreak

Established Member
Reaction score
I've never heard of minoxidil making things worse, unless you are talking about the initial shedding, which ive never experienced. You could switch the minoxidil with another growth stimulator which also lengthens the antagen phase. Cold turkey removal of the minoxidil you are going to see a lot of shedding, but only the hair that youve grown while using the minoxidil, so maybe you wont shed at all.

To be honest, the revivogen is a waste of time as well as money. Thats just my opinion. If you want a proven anti-androgen use topical spironolactone. Its cheaper and actually works. Ive used both as single agents for 3 months and the revivogen did nothing, while I had dense regrowth with the spironolactone.

x5o

Established Member
Reaction score