minoxidil hair = straw/hay

JonA

Reaction score
I have been using minoxidil for about 7-8 months now (5% liquid) and it hasnt really given me regrowth on the top only vellieus hairs on the temples....

BUT it has thickend my hair all over,,, but now my hair feels fake or something.. bit like hay or straw.. As if it doesnt have a nice texture anymore and doesnt want to bend or have much flexibility and doesnt fall as nicely as it did (im tryin to explain as best as i can lol)

has anyone elso noticed this????? (Admittidly i wud prefer straw hair than no hair.. but i wish it could feel like my normal hair how it used to :(

and on a side note... i feel like its making me feel older,,eyes always feel as if i js woke up.. and face not looking the same....

stampede

Experienced Member
Reaction score
My solution is a decent conditioner and to take breaks from minoxidil, say one day out of a week. This is what I do. I don't think it makes much difference if any to regrowth.

Hope that helps you dude :)

jared_24

Established Member
Reaction score
Hey JonA. I've experienced the exact same 'hair' problems using minoxidil (i've been using it for about 4/5 years now.)

For me - using minoxidil has grown hair on the top and a little at the front, BUT the hair it does grow back is very thick and wiry (almost like a pube kind of texture - as gross as that sounds..... :lol: ) and looks even worse with hair gel applied - especially at the front!!

The only solution I personally can suggest is make sure you get your hair cut as frequently as possible - when these hairs are short they don't look as bad....

ShedMaster

Reaction score
I have heard of this before. you could try taking msm everyday which makes your hair grow faster, and possibly increasing the quality of the hair. I agree with the idea of using a shampoo/conditioner to treat the hair.

jared_24

Established Member
Reaction score
ShedMaster said: