Minoxidil decrease my libido & erection

Black Mamba

Reaction score
I've been using topical Minoxidil lotion 5% for 5 years. From my experience it decreased my libido & caused erection problem. I've done some experiment about its side effect. I found out that if I stop using minoxidil, in 3 months, my libido & erection back to normal. But when I start to use minoxidil again, in just 1 month the libido & erection problem arise again.

To make sure that minoxidil is the culprit, i repeat the experiment cycle during my 5 years usage. And the result is always the same

I have question: how technically minoxidil cause such problem (lowering libido & erection problem) ?

Rittdk01

Reaction score
its a TOPICAL. Theres no chance your ed is from rogaine. Propecia obviously has those effects, but thats a pill.

testingit

Reaction score
I don't yet use minoxidil but have never heard of this as a side affect. Sure it's not a placebo affect you're experiencing? Are you also on finasteride or avodart?

[ not a a doctor or a hair loss expert, just forum poster ]

dusty

Established Member
My Regimen
Reaction score
There is the simple fact that some blood pressure medications do lower libido but there is no indication in the literature that minoxidil is one of them.
Also you have to ask yourself "would enough minoxidil get absorbed to even cause the same side effects as oral minoxidil" and the answer to this is not completely clear because side effects are dependent on the sensitivity to the medication by an individual.
If you want a simple answer then I have to say that its "No" because there is no scientific evidence backing that minoxidil effects libido.
Also oral minoxidil isn't a new medication so if lowered libido was really a problem we would know about by now.