Minoxidil and Redness / Burning feeling (pictures)

Sativa

Reaction score
So I bought a 6 months supply of kirkland minoxidil liquid 5%, and been using it on my hairline for a little over a month. Everything was going great, a little itch and slightly red at times, but not very noticeable at all till a week ago where it got pretty bad. It got really red, itchy and felt a burning feeling or yeah after applying it. (I didn't notice anything the day before). So I stopped for 3 days and it got better pretty quick. So applied it again last night, and it got red/itchy again. Pics are taken today just out of the shower with slightly wet hair combed backwards (Not how I wear my hair normally :p )

So now what? I guess some will recommend I jump on minoxidil foam, but it's well more expensive than liquid form i'm guessing, and as i'm studying, I would prefer a cheaper alternative. Hoping I wont have to quit, since i've noticed really tiny hairs coming along the hairline (or I just havent noticed them before).

Took a couple of pics for comparison later on and just uploaded them all, but the redness is most noticeable in the last picture if you cant be arsed looking at them all.

http://img13.imageshack.us/img13/5384/001dnww.jpg

http://img5.imageshack.us/img5/8163/002wsg.jpg

http://img194.imageshack.us/img194/6408/003yfc.jpg

http://img29.imageshack.us/img29/3803/005gnc.jpg

http://img560.imageshack.us/img560/1386/008is.jpg

Edit: Oh I guess I should add that I use the full dosage (1 ml was it?) on my hairline alone leaving it really soaking wet. Could this be the problem? Though, it said to use 1ml everytime.

joesmith

Reaction score
Sorry to hear that. I think there are quite some people allegic to PG (propylene glycol). Not sure the issue here is caused by PG. Foam seems better, but some folks also mentioned some minoxidil is lost on hair when applying foam. in addition, some do not have good response to foam compared to liquid form.