I Wonder If The Rate Of Incel-dom Will Skyrocket In The Next Decade?

Afro_Vacancy

My Regimen
Reaction score
This isn't specifically related to hair loss, as there are many different ways to be ugly, and I think hair loss is going to be nearly cured in the next fifteen years anyway.

It's related to online dating. When I was younger people met others in school, summer camp, church/synagogue/mosque/temple, their jobs, night clubs, activities, et cetera. That is being phased out by online dating, I'm not sure the exact rate and how it impacts different age groups.

Online dating allows one to cast a wider net, and it yields dates for good-looking at a minimal cost of effort -- they need only make a profile and read the compliments that pour in, rather than dress up and go to a club. As they are the most desirable members, it is their incentives that drive the behaviour of the whole community, as the community will largely follow them.

When I was an undergraduate, I talked to people in class, and I got involved in student politics and the school newspaper. Now, I think a lot of students attend class with their earphones on, they keep their earphones on all day, or they look at their cell phone for a few hours a day. You cannot meet people in real life if you're staring at your cell phone all day. They will meet fewer people. If this accelerates, as I suspect/fear it will, we will see much higher rate of incel-dom among men. According to surveys only 5% or less my age are virgins in this society. Perhaps that number will climb far higher.