Generic Finasteride...?

MaluLani

Reaction score
Well I am thinning on the top of my head and crown area, it's very noticable after I get out of the shower and it is depressing cause I love to swim and I haven't been able to cause I don't want stupid comments from friends and I hate people noticing it.

•So how exactly do I get started on finasteride?
•I don't have insurance and i'm a college student. Is it possible to buy a 6 month supply all at once?
•Also does splitting the generic proscar or whatever it's called work just as good?
•How much does a dermatologist cost?
•I know about the side effects but I'd seriously rather take those than go bald, but is there anything else I need to know?

•(also is there anything that can help conceal my hair loss while swimming? I have medium length hair and it's dark so when it's wet and sunny my scalp will show and I don't want that. Does DermMatch work good for those situations?)

DeanHarryThomas

Reaction score
I don't use any concealers since my hair loss is not too noticeable yet ( I hope!) but I have heard (or read) that DerMatch is much better than toppik when it comes to swimming or rain etc.

You could use a swimming cap I guess, but yeah , I know, not very practical and people will wonder why you wear it all of a sudden. I don't think you should give up something you love because of your male pattern baldness problem though.

I have just recently started taking generic finasteride, not proscar but some generic version from India. I have heard mixed reviews about these generic versions but I think if you buy it from a reputable source you should be fine. I bought a 1 year supply, but I'm not sure how it works if you get a propecia or proscar prescription. Like I said, if you can find a reliable source for a generic version then it should be fine, I think there are some links on this site where you can order finpecia which many people seem to be using.