Finasteride and body hair

Belmondo

Established Member
Reaction score
Does finasteride have any effect on body hair? Do you know any studies on this?

I'm a Proscar veteran and I've been taking it everyday for the last 14 years. Ever since I started taking finasteride, it seems the the growth of new body hair has stopped - which is great, I hate body hair and I don't want to look like an ape. I have hair in my legs and genitals, but the back and chest are smooth, which is not very common for a 33 y.o. hispanic man.

Is there a cause and effect relationship here?

Cassin

Reaction score
Belmondo said:
Does finasteride have any effect on body hair? Do you know any studies on this?

I'm a Proscar veteran and I've been taking it everyday for the last 14 years. Ever since I started taking finasteride, it seems the the growth of new body hair has stopped - which is great, I hate body hair and I don't want to look like an ape. I have hair in my legs and genitals, but the back and chest are smooth, which is not very common for a 33 y.o. hispanic man.

Is there a cause and effect relationship here?

14 years? How has your hair held up? Do you have it in a post anywhere?

Also I am on 6 + years of finasteride and my body hair has GREATLY reduced. Pretty amazing.

hairrific

Established Member
Reaction score
What, you did not know finasteride has an "inverse reaction" on body hair. It helps you keep your scalp hair thicker, YET makes body hair more scarce and thinner in time. I personally believe it might prevent body hair in certain areas completely if one has no hair in these areas due to young age or depending on what stage of development one is at. This is mostly in timing with what age you are when you jump on finasteride. But I have seen no studies. In the mean time the body builders who think they need all that DHT will just have to keep shaving vigorously, ha!

backintime

Established Member
Reaction score