Finasteride and body hair | HairLossTalk Forums

Finasteride and body hair

Discussion in 'Antiandrogens - Propecia, Dutasteride, etc.' started by Belmondo, Nov 29, 2009.

1. Belmondo

Belmondo Established Member

Dislikes Received:
    Does finasteride have any effect on body hair? Do you know any studies on this?

I'm a Proscar veteran and I've been taking it everyday for the last 14 years. Ever since I started taking finasteride, it seems the the growth of new body hair has stopped - which is great, I hate body hair and I don't want to look like an ape. I have hair in my legs and genitals, but the back and chest are smooth, which is not very common for a 33 y.o. hispanic man.

Is there a cause and effect relationship here?

2. wannakeepitall

Dislikes Received:
    Very likely. It also explains why some balding men can still have very thick body hair. While DHT seems to kill scalp hair, it seems to strengthen body hair. That's why it would be great if body hair could be transplanted to scalp without any issues.

3. Cassin

Cassin Senior Member

Dislikes Received:
    14 years? How has your hair held up? Do you have it in a post anywhere?

Also I am on 6 + years of finasteride and my body hair has GREATLY reduced. Pretty amazing.

4. Belmondo

Belmondo Established Member

Dislikes Received:
    Thanks for your replies, guys.

My hair is doing fine and I'm really proud of it.

There has been some recession but I'm still a solid NW2 and the crown is perfect.

5. Nene

Nene Senior Member

Dislikes Received:
    You guys grew less body hair on finasteride??? I'm never getting off of it now!

6. hairrific

hairrific Established Member

Dislikes Received: