Fear, Sex, and Hairlines

Scarecrow

Reaction score
Hi, I'm 20-year-old male and a college student. I began to notice that I started getting a receding hairline a couple of years ago. My hair is still incredibly thick and looks decent but the hairline is another story.

Last month I got curious and wanted to know exactly how bad my hairline was. After doing some research, it resembles a Norwood 2. With my gigantic forehead, it looks really bad. Thankfully, I have long bangs so my hairline is hidden.

Either way, being a young college student, I want to make the most out of my few years here. I mean they're supposed to be the "best years of your life" right? I don't want to spend my time worrying and feeling depressed about my hair. I decided to go to my doctor and get started on Proscar. I have the usual "cut into 4 pieces, once a day" thing. I've been on it for about a month and I'm very hopeful for results.

However I have a few concerns. In the past two weeks I have had several days where my balls would ache. I thought maybe I was getting a lump on my testicle or something, so I checked myself in the shower. Nothing. I thought maybe it was "blue balls" so I had sex with my girlfriend. The pain stopped.. probably just a coincidence though.

Today they are aching bad. I've been doing research on the internet and it's a side effect of the Finasteride in the Proscar. The more I do research the more horror stories I come across. Some like people unable to have children and having permanent erectile dysfunction.

There is no way I can deal with these things. I'm so scared right now. I don't know what to do. How long should I keep this testicle pain up for? Should I go to my doctor right now and quit the drugs? My sex life has remained unchanged. I still get it up and everything is normal...but I'm still worried. I'm scared for the day when my hormones are so messed up that I'm not going to be able to have sex at all.