Easiest tape backing to remove - suggestions

JMC

Established Member
My Regimen
Reaction score
Geez I’m still learning and have so many ups and downs. Tonight is an issue that we have not had before.

I got a new lace unit and this is the second reattachment we have done. Last week the issue wasn’t as bad, but this week we could not get the backing off the tape to save our lives. Either the tape would not stay stuck down or we just simply couldn’t grasp a corner of the tape to peel off the backing. The unit has been cleaned very good (or I thought so) to remove any silicone. I had washed and conditioned it prior to putting tape on.

My question is what tape do you guys use that is a breeze to take off the backing? As long as I can get a good week out of it then I’ll be happy.

Just so you know, we used No Shine and Ultra Hold tonight and both were tough. No Shine was near about impossible but after a solid hour we got all the backing off.

It was a complete nightmare tonight with my girlfriend near about having a breakdown. She went through so much tape that would not stick down or get bunched up after finally getting the backing off.

JMC

Established Member
My Regimen
Reaction score
Was thinking more... am I even putting tape on correctly. Do I need to go back to applying tape 101.

When we tape the base we try to get every bare spot possible even if this means cutting a very small sliver of tape to fit in. I started looking up videos and I see 2 different methods. Some people are doing mostly what I am doing which is very time consuming. There’s a ton of cutting involved. A few people I have noticed is just putting a few pieces of tape around it with a lot of gap in between. I have attached a video of someone that is doing it that way. Now this would be sooooo much simpler for us and less of a headache in having to remove so much tape backing as well.

Which way is correct?!?!?

BaldBearded

My Regimen
Reaction score
Easy.