Dermapen needles not penetrating deep enough?

Lookaway

My Regimen
Reaction score
I've been using a dermapen and dermaroller for about 3 months now. The thing I've noticed is that my pen (DrPen A6S) doesn't penetrate as well as my roller. I did record a slow motion video and it does go back and forth as it's supposed to, but for some reason I didn't feel anything. I even went as deep as 2mm but I didn't even bleed. It's like when the needles touch my skin they bounce back. However, I bled much more with the 1.5mm roller, and with the roller I felt like the needles actually poke in my skin. Anyone feel the same?

DoctorHouse

Reaction score
I've been using a dermapen and dermaroller for about 3 months now. The thing I've noticed is that my pen (DrPen A6S) doesn't penetrate as well as my roller. I did record a slow motion video and it does go back and forth as it's supposed to, but for some reason I didn't feel anything. I even went as deep as 2mm but I didn't even bleed. It's like when the needles touch my skin they bounce back. However, I bled much more with the 1.5mm roller, and with the roller I felt like the needles actually poke in my skin. Anyone feel the same?
I have the same derma pen model and I feel the pain at 1mm. At the front, I get some mild blood. Maybe you need to put more pressure on the pen. The higher the speed the less you feel it. I go at level 6. My scalp is sore for days after.

mooreu

Established Member
My Regimen
Reaction score
When you use a derma roller you are tearing the skin hence the increased pain while using the same. The needles in a derma stamp and derma pen penetrate the scalp in an up/down motion so no tearing.

You should also make sure you hold your derma pen firmly against the scalp.

Young&thinning

Banned
My Regimen
Reaction score