Dantericci's Story - (4 years, time to throw in the towel?

dantericci

Reaction score
Hey all.

I've been pretty silent since 1/2006, and I thought it was time to find out from you all if you think I continue fighting the good fight I'm not sure whether I'm seeing signs of slow success, or if it's time to pack it in, call it a loss, and stop wasting my money.

I'm 27 and I've been losing hair for the past ~6-7 years. It sucks. I wear hats all the time, which I used to do as kid anyway, so I guess it's not a new thing, but now the reason I wear them is quite different. The other medical thing I've got going on is a benign disorder that affects a detoxification enzyme in the liver. I've also found lately that I'm losing hair in my extremities, and particularly in my legs (my calves and shins have bald spots).

I've been on a steadily-evolving regimen for four years now, and I honestly can't tell whether I should keep at it or stop trying.

Here's what I'm working with now:

5% minoxidil foam (1-2x's daily)
finasteride (~1.25mg daily)
msm (1500mg ~4 times a week)

That much has been more or less consistent for the past 1.5 years. At given times I've added other things in, and so I'm also putting the following to use as of late:

retin-a cream (nightly, ~1 month in)
emu oil (weekly, ~2 months in)
soy isoflavone supplement (daily, ~1 month in)

I tried a cayenne supplement, but my stomach couldn't tolerate it (I also have stomach issues). I've briefly tried but since bailed on biotin, magnesium, and saw palmetto supplements.