Daily 2% nizoral--any risks? Old study on oral

DuCharme

Reaction score
I've been using 2% Nizoral shampoo daily for six months or so, but I'm still slightly uneasy on its safety. For one, even the watery 1% is only really recommended a few times per week. And I've never found any studies on long term use of 2%, since it seems assumed that nobody would bother to get a Rx for it indefinitely.

It's topical, sure...but it seems a consensus here that topical finasteride probably only works by going systemic. Is this a risk for nizoral? Opinions?

This is a real concern; oral KCZ isn't really a very good idea long term:
Br J Clin Pharmacol. 1992 July; 34(1): 75–78.

PMCID: PMC1381379
Copyright notice
Contrasting effects of fluconazole and ketoconazole on phenytoin and testosterone disposition in man.
M A Touchette, P H Chandrasekar, M A Milad, and D J Edwards
College of Pharmacy and Allied Health Professions, Wayne State University, Detroit, MI 48202.
Small right arrow pointing to: This article has been cited by other articles in PMC.
Abstract