Colour Fading - Advice For Newbie Poster!

Bullet1983

My Regimen
Reaction score
I've been wearing for 9 months and honestly it's the best thing I've ever done despite the steep learning curve and occasional "crisis" of faith.

I wear a thin poly skin with a short style and medium brown colour.

I've used this thread a lot and really appreciate everyone's input, and I'm hoping there may be some advice forthcoming on this issue.

A couple of recent beach holidays and the UK heatwave has made the lightening of my system accelerate (different systems). I'm at the point where I'm going to the salon every 2-3 weeks to have it coloured darker. It's been a tough summer in this respect, as you can really see the colour difference with my real hair when the system lightens. I don't sunbathe or spend more time outside than the average person.

I'm wondering if everybody has this problem, or if it's related to my treatment of my hair?
- I blowdry every day for less than a minute after wetting my hair in the (warm) shower and combing through some argan oil
- I've tried a couple of different UV/sun sprays for hair to no avail, and I don't like how they impact the hair texture
- every shampoo or conditioning product I use is supposed to be protective for coloured hair

My salon says there's not a lot you can do other than dye it every now and then, but I don't seem to read about this much from other wearers so I'm wondering if there's something more practical I could be doing to reduce the issue??

Any tips/product recommendations very welcome!

CrownBalding

My Regimen
Reaction score
I’m curious, what color is your system?

Noah

Reaction score
Hi Bullet

Time in the sun sand and surf definitely does a number on your hair system. As you get into wearing a bit more you will likely set aside an old piece for times like that. When it's under a hat or soaked with seawater you can't really tell the difference, and it keeps your newer pieces from getting trashed.