Can we have a succinct thread on the latest needling knowledge re: Folica, depth, # of holes per cm2 etc?

fugged

Established Member
My Regimen
Reaction score
Hi Everyone,

I was hoping to revisit the folica patent post (which I somehow missed) / depth of needling conversation, if anyone is knowledgable or interested? I have been messing around with needling now for something like 2 years, first with rollers, then a D2, and generally never got tremendous for results. However, a few times, I felt like something clicked and made my hair stronger, and shed less. Initially I felt like this improvement came after my first deeper 1.5 mm session... I read an article, I believe on perfect hair health, that was in essence surmising that most studies were in between 1.5-2.5 mm. (I think). So, I have been doing 2mm with a D2 every 2 weeks for 2 months, with the general goal of 2 passes in each area, which has been hard to be precise with.

Results honestly aren't very good, hair seems to be slightly worse at the moment after a respite from shedding but more importantly, feels thinner, deader, and when I pull many they come out painlessly without much bulb. This seems an odd turn since I felt like just switching to a D2 a year ago was initially helping at least a little in the pull-hair-feel-pain test. And I have felt like I DID have some magic moments where the hair really felt better rooted, more pert, and stronger! So now Im thinking Im going too deep lately.

Another thing Ive experienced is less bleeding, even despite increasing needling depth, through time, which seems very contradictory to me if angiogenesis is happening.. seems the opposite is.

Are we still trying for that insane 1600 holes per cm2? Apologies if IM way too out of the loop, and gratitude for any clarity on the latest in the matter. After reading through the first 5 pages of the Follica patent thread, Im inclined to try shallower, and for, I guess 1600 per cm2.

Thank you!!!!

coolio

Experienced Member