Can minoxidil make things worse?

JWM

Reaction score
I tried searching but can't find something I read on here awhile ago about minoxidil possibly making hair loss worse in the absence of insulin? Does that ring a bell to anyone? Has anyone here found there situation worsened after extended use of minoxidil (initial shedding excluded)?

foeplay

Reaction score
I've been using it for almost 2 months now, and my hair seems to get worse where I apply it, added finasteride and nixoral after a month of minoxidil, I am hoping I get regrowth on the top of my head where its running very low now. I have grown black vellus hairs on my hairline and temples, wish I could get some of those on the top to take away some of the white scalp from showing through.

mon

Established Member
Reaction score
I wish I had never used it on the bit just above the ears (lower temporal area). I have gotten a shed there. I am hoping it will grow back. I applied it there hoping it will make the hair even thicker but instead it seems to have gradually receded slightly. I should have just used nizarol for this area for maintenance.

biff

Established Member
Reaction score