Can minoxidil maintain hair?

metropolis

Established Member
Reaction score
I've been using finasteride and minoxidil 5% for the last 13 years or so with good results. Finasteride is my number 1 baldness drug and it's very effective, but minoxidil doesn't seem to be doing much good.

I've been applying minoxidil to my temples 2 x everyday and there's no regrowth in that area. I wonder, however, if minoxidil has helped me to maintain my hair (after 15 years of hairloss hell, I'm still an early NW2).

So, my question to all you experts is this: can minoxidil maintain hair or is it just a regrowth product?

Anyway, I don't intend to stop using minoxidil - it's easy to use and I see no other alternative.

Thanks in advance, guys!

Mens Rea

Reaction score
it can maintain hair

problem is that hair becomes reliant on it so you need it

im in the very same position as yourself buddy as youll see from my thread

ive been on minoxidil for 3 years and tbh i question what its did for me.

The prospect of usign the for the rest of my life with the possibility that it doesn't do anything for me is insane so ive decided ot try get off it and see what happens.

Mens Rea

Reaction score
^ For some.

minoxidil is rarely and i mean RARELY in every sense, a success story on its own. Cumulatively maybe but it appears most success stories are based on finasteride. In fact finasteride is really the only consistent element of success stories, min not so much.

Bryan

Staff member
Reaction score
metropolis said:
So, my question to all you experts is this: can minoxidil maintain hair or is it just a regrowth product?