Can hair moult for no particular reason?

Jill

Reaction score
Hello! Newbie here and I wondered if anyone could help me out?

Does anyone know if it's possible for your hair to go through a "moulting phase" without there being any significant cause?

I ask this b/c many years ago, when I was about 11, my long, thick hair went through a very heavy shedding period. It came out when I washed, brushed, when I ran my fingers through it and I also kept finding loose strands all over my clothes and furniture. After a few weeks it became noticeably thinner (although there were no thinned out patches on the scalp itself just the hair in general became thin) so my mother enquired at the local hairdresser and pharmacy and they both said that it was fairly common and nothing unusual for hair to sometimes go through a heavy shedding phase and that it was nothing to worry about. Anway, a short while later, the shedding stopped and my hair returned to it's former full thickness.

Then a couple of years later at about 14, it happened again. Several weeks of moulting before returning to normal.

Now, a lengthy 14yrs later, at 26... and yep, it's started again. Last week I noticed more hair in the basin after washing than usual and lots of strands over my hands. Now for the past week I've been doing nothing but run my fingers through it and coming away with anything between 2-6 hairs almost every time. It's mostly happening at the lower back and sides, not particularly at the front or crown. Although today, I have had more out of the crown than ususal.

I just inspected my sideburns with a comb and I'm thinking they are starting to look thinner which is not surprising as this seems to be where most of the shedding is occurring. I know it's been a long gap since it last shed and I was a kid/teen at the time but I wondered if I could be prone to involuntary shedding for no reason.