Bodybuilding and Propecia

PowerHouse

Reaction score
Hi,

Im new to this site, and its my first time doing anything about my hairloss. Im 31 years old and i have been losing hair for about 5 years, slowly but now i want to give propecia a shot...My supply of Propecia will arrive tomorrow..
My question is, will taking propecia have any negative effect on my weight lifting ?

Thank you in advance for ur answers

blue

Experienced Member
Reaction score
I would think it would effect it in a bad way..i man Propecia lowers your test levels...and you need test to build muscle.....

If you want to get on propecia while still weightlifting...i would suggest(cause your strength will not get better faster while on propecia)
taking creatine or another supplement to help were your test will slip a bit

Creatine would be my choice just cause it has almost nothing to do with test....and more about giving your muscles more water overload.

research some supplements that could boost your muscle and strength while on propecia cause like i said it will lower your weightlifting capabilities.

PowerHouse

Reaction score
I got lucky and found some article about it, if anyone else interested..

Q. Propecia and Running

I am a 53-year-old male recreational runner (20 to 25 miles per week), I supplement my running with strength training. I would like to try Propecia, the new prescription treatment for male pattern baldness. I understand that this drug has some antiandrogenic effects, at least on hair follicles and the prostate gland. How selective are these effects? Would it have any negative effects on athletic performance? Would it inhibit muscle growth and development in a strength-training program?

Samuel Smith

Springfield, MO